Florida DUI Lawyer

Florida DUI Lawyers

Featured Florida Dui Lawyers

Melbourne DUI Lawyer

Melbourne FL DUI Lawyer Clay Morgan

Morgan and Barbary

Ph: (321) 951-3400
730 E. Strawbridge Ave.,
Melbourne, FL 32901

Fill out the simple form below and an attorney will contact you shortly.

View Listing

Melbourne DUI Lawyer

Melbourne FL DUI Lawyer Ronald Ecker

Ronald L. Ecker Attorney at Law

Ph: 321-752-4092
707 West Gallie,
Melbourne, FL 32935

Fill out the simple form below and an attorney will contact you shortly.

View Listing

New Port Richey DUI Lawyer

New Port Richey FL DUI Lawyer Samuel J. Williams, PA.

Samuel J. Williams, PA.

Ph: (727) 845-8701
6341 Grand Blvd.,
New Port Richey, FL 34652

Fill out the simple form below and an attorney will contact you shortly.

View Listing

DUI Lawyer

 FL DUI Lawyer

Ph:
,
, FL

Fill out the simple form below and an attorney will contact you shortly.

View Listing

Florida Dui Lawyers Listing



 

ABOUT FLORIDA - STATE FACTS

  • Capital: Tallahassee
  • Population: 15,982,378
  • Entered the Union: March 3, 1845
  • As the: 27th state 
  • Nickname: Sunshine State
  • Flower: Orange Blossom
  • Bird: Mockingbird
  • Song: The Swanee River

MOST SEARCHED FLORIDA CITIES




Florida Drunk Driving Attorneys

DUI (Driving Under the Influence of Alcoholic Beverages, Chemical Substances or Controlled Substances). s. 316.193, F.S.

Under Florida law, DUI is one offense, proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above. The penalties upon conviction are the same, regardless of the manner in which the offense is proven.

 

                  Fine Schedule s. 316.193(2)(a)-(b), F.S.

  • First Conviction: Not less than $500, or more than $1,000. With Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000.
  • Second Conviction: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $2,000, or more than $4,000.
  • Third Conviction More than 10 years from second: Not less than $2,000, or more than $5,000. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $4,000.
  • Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: Not less than $2,000.

                 Community Service - s. 316.193 (6)(a), F.S.

First Conviction: Mandatory 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.

Depending on the details of your case, there are options available to you besides jail time, including:

Fines
 Probation

 Community service
DUI driving school
Substance abuse evaluation and counseling
Reduction / elimination of charge

 

As you may know, the State of Florida has greatly enhanced the penalties for DUI in recent years. The first conviction may result in a term of imprisonment or probation, a substantial fine, community service time, and a loss of driving privileges. If the judge decides to give you probation rather than a jail sentence, you must be required to report to a probation officer once a month for a year and pay monthly for the costs of probation. Completion of DUI school and an evaluation for substance abuse is also mandatory. Normally your car insurance rates will increase substantially if you are convicted of DUI. Once the conviction is entered by the court, it is very difficult to successfully challenge that conviction after the fact.

A second conviction for DUI can carry with it a mandatory term of imprisonment for not less than 10 days. Subsequent DUI convictions carry even more severe penalties, including long-term jail sentences and mandatory revocation of driving privileges. A third DUI charge can be a felony under a recent change in the law.

The State of Florida must prove a DUI beyond and to the exclusion of every reasonable doubt. The breathalyzer machine might have been in error and the results could be challenged. The circumstances of the arrest might also be subject to legal attack


Florida DUI Enforcement Laws
 Florida Statute 316.193: Driving under the influence; penalties.
 Florida Statute 316.1936: Possession of open containers of alcoholic beverages in vehicles prohibited; penalties.
 Florida Statute 316.1939: Refusal to submit to testing
 Florida Statute 322.2616: Suspension of license; persons under 21 years of age
  
DUI Checkpoint Issues
 Jones v State

 

 

FHP: 10,732 DUI (Driving Under the Influence) Arrests in Florida in 2008

FL DUI City Links

Florida DUI Client Links

Find Florida Lawyer by County